School Council Meeting Minutes Braelinn Elementary School Conference Room May 2, 2019 7:00 a.m.

Members Present: Jennifer Couch, Principal Catie Bates, Teacher Representative (ABSENT TODAY) Laura Minter, Teacher Representative Derek Wyler, Parent Representative (ABSENT TODAY) Hilary Clark, Business Representative Christy Meyer, Parent Representative Beth Ryan, Business Partner (ABSENT TODAY)

The meeting was called to order by Laura Minter. Hilary Clark moved to approve the agenda and minutes. All were in favor. Corinne Kehayes, Katie Berger, Lisa Owens, Donna Buffington, Emily Nealis, and Kerrie Okoro were our visitors.

With regard to old business, we have received our most recent WriteScore writing data. Based on our School Improvement Plan Goals, our students are performing at 82% at or above grade level standards. Our goal for year 1 was 70% which was exceeded. Preliminary Milestones scores are coming in and the data is looking good. Questions were asked regarding Education Galaxy and Study Island; teachers did not have access this year. There was discussion surrounding PTO and when they may be up and running again. There was some question as to whether PTO had filed with the IRS yet. That information will have to come directly from the PTO. With regards to school safety, Mrs. Couch and Mrs. Nealis met with Dr. Lombard regarding the addition of handheld radios, more cameras, a visitor management system, and a cell phone booster. There was a request for extra cameras in the voting area specifically. We have also submitted a wishlist for safety upgrades that we are waiting to hear back from.

With regard to new business, welcome to our new members: Kerrie Okoro - teacher representative, Donna Buffington - teacher representative, and Lisa Owens - parent representative. We will use the previous ballot to determine a business partner. Ms. Couch reached out to Ken Morrow, who was on the ballot to serve as the business partner, and he seems interested. We will share the new principal's name as soon as it is approved by the Board of Education. For the purpose of officer elections, Kerrie Okoro will serve as Secretary, Lisa Owens will serve as Chairperson, and Donna Buffington will serve as Vice Chairperson. It was pointed out that the school website states School Council will meet monthly and that a Business Partner will be appointed by the Fayette County County Board of Education. The website will be changed to reflect more accurate information with a direct link to the state website. The School Council Compliance Checklist was distributed. See notes on completed checklists. Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, and Secretary signed off on the Compliance Checklist. It was recommended that we follow the FCBOE policy for visitors wishing to speak during meetings. The FCBOE policy is posted at the bottom of each Board agenda.

The next School Council Meeting will be held at the beginning of the 2019-2020 school year. The meeting was adjourned at 8:00 a.m. Respectfully submitted,

Emily Nealis, Recording Secretary